P.J. Reed - author.jpg

Writer of Warlocks.

Destroyer of Worlds.


P.J. Reed is a writer, playwright, and poet from England. She holds a BAEd from Canterbury Christ Church University,  an MA from Bradford University and has dabbled in psychology with the OU.

She lives in Devon with two daughters, one rescue hound, and a feral cat called Sammy.

She is an outrageously eclectic writer.

Her work has appeared in a wide variety of online and print magazines, anthologies, and collections. She is the author of the eBook 'Bad Decisions' series - a collection of macabre tales set in the heart of Devon, England. P.J. also writes the Richard Radcliffe paranormal detective series.


In 2018, P.J. won the Forward Poetry 'Circle of Life' competition for her poem 'The Empty Chair.'

'I Awake And Choose To Live' was shortlisted for the National Poetry Anthology Award in 2015.

  • Facebook
  • Amazon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
The Vault
Click here to enter the dark and Gothic poetry vault. 
Drowning. Not Waving.png
The Dark Monologue
The Richard Radcliffe Paranormal
Investigations Series

Welcome To Witherleigh 

Witherleigh is a small village set on the fringes of Exmoor. But quiet places hold deadly secrets. When the new church worker Richard Radcliffe arrives, he expects to find a welcoming but ancient farming community.


Unfortunately, he soon realises that something is very wrong in Witherleigh. 

'Just finished your book Welcome to Witherleigh. Excellent.' MM

'Reading this book reminded me of how much I love mystery! When it’s done well and it is done very well here! The author writes well, has a good eye for character and pacing. The story weaves its way into ancient occult circles in sleepy Devon and leads to an interesting twist at its climax. One of my favourite films is the Wickerman and this had a similar mood to it for me. Highly recommended!' NB

Read More

Welcome To Witherleigh - front page.png

The Bad Decisions Series


Because every horror story starts with one bad decision.  The Bad Decisions series are  a selection of short paranormal/ horror stories based around the sinister little village of Ashdurton, Devon.  Together they form a prequel to the paranormal detective series  'Welcome To Witherleigh.'

The Bad Decisions Reviews


'Tense and gripping story of a woman living alone, too petrified to leave her house from fear of a stalker who has been leaving letters and lurking just out of sight. A prisoner in their own home, but when the doctor makes an unexpected house visit.' by KC

'It was his blue eyes that drew her to him. Now he warily goes downstairs for his cooked breakfast where she is waiting for him. Suspenseful dark thriller as he lives on the edge of his nerves, a powerful story.' by VV

'The Screaming Woman (Bad Decisions Book 3) by @PJReed_author is absolutely terrifying. A macabre tale that deals with domestic abuse.' by GP

'We know that there is something nasty and not quite right in this story but we are not quite sure what will be revealed as the author masterfully misdirects our attention until the full macabre truth of the story is revealed
Highly recommended to all lovers of a story well told and especially to those who love a little bit of horror in their bedtime reading.' by HC

Triple Bagging


Triple Bagging is the first short horror story in the 'Bad Decisions' series. 

This story revolves around Rebecca. Rebecca is a woman with a problem. 
Someone is stalking her but no one believes her.

What can you do when even your home is not safe? This is Rebecca's story.

 Read More

Civic Duty

'A perfect picture of the darker side of rural life,' G.P.
It is a very special day for Farmer Bryan as he is set to receive the first award he has ever had in his life. Unfortunately, the award evening is ruined by Major Smith, who thinks Farmer Bryan is an idiot and an embarrassment to the village. However, Bryan takes the award very seriously indeed, which the Major finds out to his cost.

 Read More